A-Z Databases

Search a single catalog reflecting the holdings of over 1,500 Pennsylvania libraries and their combined collections of over 41 million books, audio materials, reference materials, movies, and much more. Libraries across Pennsylvania have collaborated to create this shared catalog of their collections. PA libraries also lend materials to other libraries. If the item you are looking for is located at a library that is not close to you, contact your local library to ask about an "interlibrary" loan. Because libraries acquire new materials daily, listings are updated on a regular basis. If you do not find what you are looking for this time, check back again at a later time.

Ancestry Library Edition is a popular consumer online genealogy resource. Its online collections include information from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.

Hoopla is a web and mobile library media streaming platform for audiobooks, comics, ebooks, movies, music, and television to be enjoyed on a computer, tablet, phone, or TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to view offline. *Please Note: Hoopla is only available to EASD residents and limited to 5 titles a month.

With Libby, the Library Reading App from Overdrive, you can access hundreds of eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines on your phone, tablet, or computer. You can stream titles with Wi-Fi or mobile data, or download them for offline use and read anytime, anywhere. Have library cards from other libraries? Sign into multiple libraries at once and see all of your loans in one place.

Looking for your next book? Want to find more from your favorite authors? As a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource, NoveList Plus will answer all your reading questions! With NoveList Plus, you can find read-a-like titles, explore your favorite genres, and fill up your reading list in no time!

This collection includes hundreds of eBooks from renowned family publisher Cricket Media. It can help build strong literacy skills in students from grades pre-K to 8 by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles. This unique eBook collection explores a wide range of subjects to help young readers explore and expand their worlds.

This database provides coverage in areas including history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources, including 400 full-text nonfiction books and around 300 full-text book chapters from publishers such as Britannica, World Book, Rosen Publishing Group, Enslow, and ReferencePoint Press. Also find:

• Controversial Issues: Over 80 issues including Alien Life and UFOs, Animal Shelters, Coral Reefs, Coronavirus, Cryptozoology, Election 2020, Fake News, Girls and Women in Sports, Honeybee Population, Prisons, Racism, School Lunches, Service and Support Animals, Student-Athlete Compensation, and Transportation.
• Animal Facts: Over 325 animal fact pages including Asian Water Buffalo, Brown Recluse Spider, Elk, Funnel Web Spider, Howler Monkey, Piranha, Quetzal, Quokka, Spider Monkey, Yak
• Famous People: Over 200 famous people/biographies pages including Bill Clinton, Christa McAuliffe, Chuck Berry, Frida Kahlo, John Lewis, Kobe Bryant, Langston Hughes, Marion Anderson, Pele, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Greta Thunberg, Hank Aaron, Joe Biden, Joy Harjo, and Kamala Harris.
• Country Facts: 200 Country Fact pages with sections including information on population, government type, government official, agriculture, language, and holidays.

Whether you’re a true language learning beginner, dusting off your old high school Spanish, or eager to tackle your tenth language—Transparent Language Online will help you get started and stick with it! With this resource you can:

• Learn 120+ languages, including:
  • American Sign Language
  • English (ESL/ELL) learning content for speakers of over 30 languages
    30+ endangered North American and world languages (with more added every year!)
• Practice listening, speaking, reading, and writing/typing with interactive lessons and courses
• Build and maintain your vocab with vocab-focused lessons and a strategic review system that keeps it all fresh
• Learn anytime, anywhere with mobile apps that include offline and hands-free modes
• Explore a wide range of interests through courses focused on travel, workplace language, and beyond.