Easton City Parks
The City of Easton has 22 active parks with a variety of recreational opportunities and 8 passive recreational spaces. Check the website for details on each park's facilities.
Location: Multiple locations
Easton Out Loud
Fourth Fridays in Downtown Easton offer music, food, drinks, games, and acitivites for the whole family. Information tent in Centre Square provides additional information 5-9 PM. Some activities may involve a fee.
Location: 150 West Walnut Street, Hellertown, PA 18055
Historic Bethlehem has 12 historic sites with a variety of history, hours, and fees. They convey the history of the area, industries, and the Moravians.
Location: 74 West Broad Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
Historic Catasauqua Preservation Association
HCPA is home to two national historic districts: the Biery's Port H.D. and the Mansion D. along with the revided canal towpath. The Biery House, 8 Race Street includes the house, summer kitchen, Deily Coal Yard, Scale House, and Mule Barn.
Kutztown Area Historical Society
The museum contains collections associated with the Kutztown area and Pennsylvania Dutch culture including Keith Haring original drawings, and Pennsylvania long rifles. Model Train Displays events are usually held on Sundays, 1-3 PM November through January.
Location: 212 S. Whiteoak Street, Kutztown, PA 19530
Leesport Area Historical Society
Circa 1858 brick schoolhouse with a classroom and room showecases displays. The building is near the Leesport Lock House, Mid-Atlantic Air Museum, an dthe Berks Heritage Center (Gruber Works, C. Howard Heister Canal Museum).
Location: 128 Main Street, Leesport, PA 19533
Leesport Lock House Foundation
Lock House property includes a lock tenders house built around 1840 by the Schuylkill Navigation Company. House is furnished to represent time period 1890 -1910. Property includes part of the canal lock. . House has been placed on National Register of Historic Places. Museum room includes historic artifacts and history on the Schuylkill Navigation Company.
Location: 27 W. Wall Street, Leesport, PA 19533
Lenape Nation of Pennsylvania
Cultural Center and Trading Post to browse artifacts, read educational pamphlets, speak to our curators, or tour our Fulfilling a Prophecy: The Past and Present of the Lenape in Pennsylvania exhibit. This is a fully collaborative exhibition, organized by the University of Pennsylvania’s Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology and the Lenape Nation of Pennsylvania. It draws from oral histories, family heirlooms, and photographs, as well as archaeology, historical, and ethnographic research.
Location: 169 Northampton Street, Easton, PA 18042
Lock Ridge Park A 59-acre park on the site of a former iron furnace. The park includes paved trails in open and wooded areas for hiking and biking, a field for T-ball and girls softball, Swabia Creek runs through the park and offers limited fishing, and ruins of the furnace. An 81 seat pavilion with a grill and restroom can be reserved. The outdoor area next to the furnace building can be reserved for weddings and events. Buildings are open seasonally and the local historical society provides guided tours.
Location: 525 Franklin Street, Alburtis, PA 18011
Lower Macungie Township Historical Society
A barn located in Camp Olympic Park now serves as a museum that features displays, signs, artifacts, a wagon, and other materials that relay the area's history of agriculture, iron mining, Pennsylvania German heritage from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Location: 3120 S. Cedar Crest Boulevard, Emmaus, PA 18049
National Canal Museum
Hugh Moore Park is a 520-acre park in Easton between the Lehigh Canal and Lehigh River. The park includes parking, bike/walking trails, picnic areas, playground, dog park, museum, boat rides, and scenic views. The Welcome Center has bikes, canoes, and paddleboats to rent along with an introduction to the history of the area. The museum shares the history of towpath canals, specifically the Lehigh and Delaware Canals, anthracide coal mining, and the science and technology behind the industies. Exhibits and hands-on activities relay the history to visitors.
Location: 2750 Hugh Moore Park Road, Easton, PA 18042
Contact: 610-923-3548 x400
National Park Service Sites (PA region)
PA has 19 National Parks, 8 National Heritage Areas, 4 Wild & Scenic Rivers Managed by NPS, 6 National Trails Administered by NPS, 169 National Historic Landmarks, 27 National Natural Landmarks, and 2 World Heritage Sites (see the NPS worksheet for details). Fees may be charged for special programs or by outside entities.
Location: W 21st St & Canal Street, Northampton, PA 18067
Contact: 610-262-8198 / 610-570-5083
Pennsylvania State Forests
Pennsylvania has approximately 20 state forests that citizen can visit. Check the DCNR website for a specific forest, rules and regulations, and approved activities like hiking, mountain biking, horse riding, atv riding, picnicking, fishing, hunting, camping, sightseeing, snowmobiling, and cross-country skiing. Costs can vary.
Pennsylvania State Parks
Pennsylvania has 124 parks across its boundaries. Check the DCNR website for specific park information, rules and regulations, and approved activities. State parks do not charge entrance fees; fees may exist for certain activities
Roseberry Homestead/Phillipsburg Historical Society
The Roseberry Homestead is an 18th Century Georgian-style manor with a restored 19th Century kitchen. Artifacts found on site are displayed inside the house. Stenciling on parlor walls are special to the house. The house is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. The Rosebery Homestead is maintained by the Phillipsburg Historical Society.
Location: 258 Anchorage Road, Saylorsburg, PA 18353
Saucon Valley Conservancy/Heller Homestead
The mission of the Saucon Valley Conservancy is to preserve the historic and natural environment of the Saucon Valley as an educational and recreational resource for area citizens and visitors.
Location: Heller Homestead Park, Friedensville Road, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Location: 105 Seminary Street, Pennsburg, PA 18073
Slate Belt Heritage Center
The Slate Belt Heritage Center collects, preserves, interprets, and presents the history, culture, and industry of the slate region of Pennsylvania.
Location: 30 North 1st Street, Bangor, PA 18013
Stroudsburg Little Bethel Historical Association
The organization is located within the African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church building on 3rd Street in Stroudsburg. Established in 1868, it operated until the 1970s. It is currently undergoing restoration.
Location: 113 North 3rd Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Weatherly Area Museum
The Weatherly Area Museum showcases the story of how the town was founded and the businesses and industries that helped shape it over the years. Artifacts, photography and historical memorabilia are on display.
Location: 100 Steelplant Road, Weatherly, PA 18255
Whitehall Historical Preservation Society
The Whitehall Historical Preservation Society began preservation of the mill in 1984. It has become the hub for our monthly speaker programs and special events, while standing as a museum of Whitehall Township’s colorful and unique history. The Peter Grim Homestead (506 Mickley Road), which was the miller’s residence, was built in 1834, and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999. The research library, as well as the Society’s office headquarters, are located in this building. There is a unique walk-thru garden adjacent to the Homestead.
Location: 506 Mickley Road, Whitehall, PA 18052
Recreation Spaces and Activities with Admission/Fees
Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University - Museum pass available at EAPL
The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is the oldest natural science research institution and museum in the Americas and organizes public exhibits and educational programs for both schools and the general public.
1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
African American Museum of Philadelphia - Museum pass available at APL
The African American Museum in Philadelphia (AAMP) is notable as the first museum funded and built by a municipality to help preserve, interpret and exhibit the heritage of African Americans.
701 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
America On Wheels - Museum pass available at APL
America on Wheels is an over-the-road transportation museum in Allentown, Pennsylvania. The 43,000 square feet museum offers over 23,000 square feet of exhibit space divided into three main galleries and several smaller exhibits.
5 North Front Street, Allentown, PA 18102
85 South Walnut Street, Boyertown, PA 19512
Bucks County Children's Museum - Museum pass available at APL
A hands-on learning museum for families to learn about local history. Advanced reservations are highly recommended.
Location: 500 Union Square Drive, New Hope, PA 18938
Chanticleer Gardens - Museum pass available at EAPL Chanticleer Garden is a forty-eight-acre botanical garden built on the grounds of the Rosengarten estate at 786 Church Road in Wayne, Pennsylvania. Located on Philadelphia's historic Main Line, Chanticleer retains a domestic scale and is welcoming to visitors for relaxation, walking, and picnics. Parking reservations needed on weekends.
786 Church Road, Wayne, PA 19087-4713
Daniel Boone Homestead
Site of Daniel Boone's family's homestead including the Maugridge and DeTurk families within a 57-acre property with a variety of historic structures, trails, lakes.
400 Daniel Boone Road, Birdsboro, PA 19508
Da Vinci Science Center - Museum pass available at APL
The Da Vinci Science Center’s hands-on exhibits, programs, and partnership initiatives present science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) subjects to kids informally, playfully, and in ways that relate to their popular interests. These active and engaging experiences awaken interest, promote fundamental skills, and inspire students to consider exciting STEM careers that meet growing industry demands.
3145 Hamilton Blvd. Bypass, Allentown, PA 18103
Eastern State Penitentiary - Museum pass available at EAPL
The Eastern State Penitentiary is a former American prison in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is located at 2027 Fairmount Avenue between Corinthian Avenue and North 22nd Street in the Fairmount section of the city, and was operational from 1829 until 1971. Online discounted tickets are available along with special guided tours.
2027 Fairmount Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19130
side Pool offers a 25 meter tank for swimmers of all abilities as well as a children’s pool that has a sloped walk-in entry so that kids of all ages can easily enter and exit the water. There are also two pavilions which can be rented for private events.
Route 611 N near the intersection with Lafayette Street, Easton, PA 18042
George Taylor House
A 1768 building owned by George Taylor, signer of the Declaration of Independence.
35 South Front Street, Catasauqua, PA 18032
Heil Pool is a great outdoor 50 meter tank that is used for both recreational and competitive swimming. The facility has a small spray park for the enjoyment of younger patrons and the pool features two deep water slides, a shallow area for beginner swimmers and plenty of grass area for relaxing. There is also a concession stand for food and drinks, and a pavilion that can be rented for private events.
900 Packer Avenue, Easton, PA 18042
Historic Bethlehem has 12 historic sites with a variety of history, hours, and fees. They convey the history of the area, industries, and the Moravians.
74 West Broad Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
Independence Seaport Museum - Museum pass available at APL
The Independence Seaport Museum was founded in 1961 and is located in the Penn's Landing complex along the Delaware River in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The collections at the Independence Seaport Museum document maritime history and culture along the Delaware River.
211 S. Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Jacobsburg Historical Society Historic Boulton site, the Henry family estate on the Bushkill Creek with several historic buidling including the Homestead, home of the Long rifle Museum, the mansion, summer kitchen, barns with antique vehicles, and a center for Early American craft programs.
402 Henry Road, Nazareth, PA 18064
John Updike Childhood Home
The childhood home of American wirter John Updike, it was built in 1884 by Samuel and Howard Shilling. The home conveys the period of 1932-45 when the Updike family lived on the property.
117 Philadelphia Avenue, Shillington, PA 19607
call James Plath, 308-556-3352 /
email@example.com / tours: firstname.lastname@example.org
Liberty Bell Museum - Museum pass available at APL
Museum relays the story of how the Liberty Bell was saved from the British during the Revolutionary War.
622 W. Hamilton Street, Allentown, PA 18101
Mercer Museum & Fonthill Castle - Museum pass available at APL
The museum complex features local and national traveling exhibits, as well as a core museum collection of over 50,000 pre-Industrial tools. This permanent collection offers visitors a unique window into pre-Industrial America through sixty different crafts and trades, and is one of the world’s most comprehensive portraits of pre-Industrial American material culture. The museum also features a research library that is a center for local history related to Bucks County and the surrounding region.
Mercer Museum Location: 84 South Pine Street Doylestown, PA 18901
Fonthill Castle Location: East Court Street & Route 313 Doylestown, PA 18901
Contact: 215-345-0210 / 215-348-9461
Monroe County Historical Society
The Stroud Mansion constructed in 1795 by Col. Jacon Stroud for his son is located in downtown Stroudsburg. The 13-room dwelling has four floors of exhibit space relaying the county's history including a colonial kitchen, Stroud family room, Victorian parlor, antique toy room, military, medicine, and Pennsylvania German rooms.
900 Main Street, Stroudsburg, PA 18360
Moravian Historical Society
The site offers educational programming, costumed guided tours, exhibits, and public activities including view the earliest known violin produced in colonial America, paintings by the colonial Moravian artist John Valentine Haidt, a pipe organ made by early America’s premier organ-builder, David Tannenberg, an early 1850s Martin guitar, rare books and much more!
Location: 101 South Third Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Mütter Museum - Museum pass available at EAPL and APL
The Mütter Museum is a medical museum located in the Center City area of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It contains a collection of anatomical and pathological specimens, wax models, and antique medical equipment. The museum is part of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia.
19 S 22nd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
National Museum of Industrial History - Museum pass available at EAPL
The museum is located on the former campus of the Bethlehem Steel plant, now the SteelStacks campus. It houses artifacts from around the world related to American industries. Exhibits include interactives like a virtual hot air balloon ride, measure your own horsepower, and more.
602 E 2nd Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015
No. 9 Coal Mine and Museum
The museum is housed in the No. 9 Mine's Wash Shanty and relay the history and experience of anthracite mining.
A one-hour guided walking tour takes you through "the oldest coal mine you can tour in the United States," the 900-foot deep shaft, the mule-way, a miner's hospital cut from solid rock, and gift shop.
9 Dock Street, Lansford, PA 18232
Northampton County Historical & Genealogical Society (Sigal Museum)
The Sigal Museum, located in downtown Easton has collection of American Indian artifacts, decorative arts, textiles, farming implements, and exquisite colonial and Victorian-era furniture, and offers a series of special exhibitions and regional artist showcases. The Society also hosts family-friendly activities, programs, exhibitions, events, summer history camp, and tours for special groups
342 Northampton Street, Easton, PA 18042
The Palmer Pool is associated with The Charles Chrin Community Center of Palmer Township. Passes can be purchased from the Chrin Center.
Location: 3001 Farmersville Road, Palmer, PA 18045
610-258-4576 (summer only)
Pearl S. Buck House
The Pearl S. Buck House, formerly known as Green Hills Farm, is the 67-acre homestead in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, where Nobel-prize-winning American author Pearl Buck lived for 40 years, raising her family, writing, pursuing humanitarian interests, and gardening.
520 Dublin Road, Perkasie, PA 18944
Philadelphia's Magic Gardens - Museum pass available at APL
Philadelphia's Magic Gardens is a non-profit organization, folk art environment, and gallery space on South Street in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. To date, it is the largest work created by mosaic artist Isaiah Zagar. The Magic Gardens spans three city lots, and includes indoor galleries and a large outdoor labyrinth.
1020 South Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Reading Public Museum - Museum pass available at APL
The Reading Public Museum is a museum in West Reading, Pennsylvania. The museum's permanent collection mainly focuses on art, science, and civilization. It also has a planetarium and a 25-acre arboretum.
500 Museum Road, Reading, PA 19611
Reading Railroad Heritage Museum
The museum is the educational and interpretive center for the extensive collections of the Reading Company Technical and Historical Society and relays its impact on southeastern Pennsylvania and beyond from its beginning in 1833 until the end of its era in 1976.
Washington Crossing Historic Park
The 500-acre park includes restored Colonial buildings in the park, such as the Thompson-Neely House and McConkey Ferry Inn, give many clues about living conditions during the Revolutionary era. The park also contains Bowman’s Hill Tower, Revolutionary War soldiers’ graves, stone memorials, picnic pavilions and historic collections. The Park hosts many events throughout the year.
$7 per person (5y+) for guided tours.
1112 River Road, Washington Crossing, PA 18977
Woodmere Art Museum
Housed in a 19th-century stone mansion on six acres in Chestnut Hill, Woodmere Art Museum is dedicated to the art and artists of Philadelphia.
9201 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118